A Beef Curry Gone Awry

I wanted to make a Thai curry recipe from Recipezaar, but I couldn’t find curry paste or fish sauce at the grocery store (screw you, Gristedes, for not having a wide variety of foods). Instead I added more curry powder and oyster sauce. Not the best decision. Still edible, but not nearly as tasty as I wanted. I had made this fool-proof basic curry recipe before, but trying to combine techniques with…it just didn’t work, okay?

Oyster sauce, onion, chicken broth, coconut milk, corn kernels, mushrooms, beef. And curry powder in the corner.

Oyster sauce, onion, chicken broth, coconut milk, corn kernels, mushrooms, beef. And curry powder in the corner.

There are some ingredients I replaced: curry powder instead of curry paste (I don’t know how much I put in); mushrooms instead of green peas (I’m allergic); canned corn instead of baby corn; 1/2 cup of chicken broth instead of chicken bouillon cubes; and oyster sauce for fish sauce. I also omitted a few ingredients: brown sugar, lime zest, and basil.

1. Briefly cook meat. This was actually an accident. I realized I didn’t want it fully cooked yet, so I took it all out of the pan. You may want to add the beef towards the end so it doesn’t overcook.

2. Saute onions, mushrooms, and corn. I don’t really know if you can saute corn, but throw it in the pan.

3. Throw in everything except the beef. I knew it was going down hill from the lack of curry paste, so I just put it all in when I fel like it.

4. Add beef, bring to boil, then let simmer. I put the rice on while it simmered.

Kind of a disaster, but my point is: curry isn’t difficult to make. And if you want Thai curry, you absolutely need curry paste.

0 Responses to “A Beef Curry Gone Awry”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

On Twitter

August 2009
M T W T F S S
    Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

del.icio.us things


