Senegalese Chicken and Vegetable Curry?

I completely forgot I was going to make this curry recipe I found, and I used the chicken in a different curry I made. So when I did make this Senegalese recipe, I used tofu instead of chicken. Still very tasty. Also, I have just added big pot to the Getting Started: Cookware section. I happened to make this recipe in a wok, but usually I make curries in a big pot. So…get on it.

I know I'm a photo major and should know how to photograph food, but I'm always too excited when I'm cooking to care.

I know I'm a photo major and should know how to photograph food, but I'm always too excited when I'm cooking to care.

1. Saute onions and bell peppers together for five minutes. If you’re going to use chicken, go ahead and brown that first.

2. Add remaining vegetables, curry powder, cayenne, and thyme, and simmer for 10 minutes. I used carrots, yams, and broccoli. If you like eggplant, cauliflower, and potatoes, go for it. Just use vegetables you like.

3. Add tofu and tomato sauce. I lightly breaded my tofu in flour before I threw it into the wok. I thought it might cook better that way. Don’t know why.

4. Simmer for 30 minutes – meanwhile, make rice or couscous. I didn’t add vinegar, but if you have it around, do it.

When I had leftovers, I put it over pasta, which was equally good as over rice. What I love about recipes like this is that it’s not hard to make it your own. So what if you don’t like cauliflower? Use broccoli instead. The spirit of the recipe is still there, so don’t be intimidated or disgusted by ingredients. You don’t have to cook anything you don’t want to.

A really easy recipe, right? Hope it works for you!

0 Responses to “Senegalese Chicken and Vegetable Curry?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

On Twitter

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

del.icio.us things


