A Procrastinator’s Brunch: Success!

Today was my procrastinator’s brunch, which was exactly as it sounds: a bunch of students getting together to eat, play Wii, drink, and avoid work. Thankfully not everyone showed up, because I almost ran out of food! I made chocolate chip pancakes, home fries/potatoes, orange biscuits (kind of a fail), a vegetable scramble for lame vegetarians, and bacon quiche. I wish I had more pictures to post, but this was all I could photograph:

just a couple lonely chocolate chip pancakes left at the end of an epic brunch. but then they were eaten.

just a couple lonely chocolate chip pancakes left at the end of an epic brunch. but then they were eaten.

If you’re tired of doing work, I suggest you host an afternoon brunch. Everyone loves eating, especially after a night of partying and before they attempt to start doing work. I invited 84 people, and 16 people came (30 RSVP’ed yes). I’m glad, though, because I don’t know if I could’ve handled more. The recipe I’m posting from this is for the bacon quiche, because it’s so simple, and disappeared almost as soon as I put it out!

My mom made bacon quiche on our first days of school, and whenever she felt motivated. I was afraid I’d mess it up, but it went over really well. So well that I had to tell people they could only have one small slice so everyone could enjoy it, and even then not everyone got a slice.

ingredients:
3 eggs
1 1/2 cups milk
1/4 cup butter (1/2 stick), melted
1/2 cup baking mix (Bisquick)
8 bacon strips
3/4 cup shredded cheddar
dash pepper

preparation:
preheat oven to 350 degrees
grease 9-inch pie plate (you can get one for $5-10)

1. Combine eggs, milk, and butter in a blender. Don’t forget to turn the blender on. If you don’t have a blender, just make sure you mix it really well by hand.

2. Add baking mix and pepper. Again, don’t forget to turn the blender on so it, you know, blends.

3. Pour into pie plate and top with crumbled bacon and cheese. The bacon will sink into the mix, and that’s good. And you’re not limited to 8 strips. 8 strips is just a pretty good number to have. Also, it’s lucky in Chinese superstition.

4. Bake for 30-35 minutes or until a knife comes out clean after dipping it into the center. Let it stand for about 10 minutes before serving.

Again, so simple, so delicious. Don’t be afraid to make tasty things.

Leave a Reply

On Twitter

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

del.icio.us things


