Dijon Chicken Stew with Potatoes and Kale

Sorry it’s taken me so long to post this recipe. It’s been quite a week (as always). I found this recipe on Nibblous, posted by Mac Jordan of Reactive Cooking. I love both her blog and her recipe site, but this recipe wasn’t as well written as it could’ve been. There were a couple steps I was confused about; for example, she writes “Prepare the chicken and toss in flour,” but then later she says “place 1/3 cup flour in a shallow bowl or pie plate. Dredge chicken in flour, shaking off excess.” I commented on the recipe regarding the potatoes, and I also asked her a question on Twitter, but she never got back to me.

Regardless, I took the recipe into my lazy, creative hands and it turned out great. Again, I didn’t take pictures because I was too excited to cook and eat, but I’ll show you this instead:

one night some friends and i got rather silly and posted an ad on Craigslist for ice cream. we really wanted ice cream.

one night some friends and i got rather silly and posted an ad on Craigslist for ice cream. we really wanted ice cream.

I decided to cook things in a completely different order because it just made more sense to me. I also don’t monitor how much cooking oil I use (in case you hadn’t noticed already).

1. Cut up potatoes and soak in cold water. I did this step first because I don’t trust British people and their cooking times. Why? Because they like to boil things to death. I also didn’t have the time or patience to let them soak after I started cooking.

2. Prepare chicken, toss in flour, brown, and set aside. As you may remember from my most recent grocery list, I grabbed turkey instead of chicken. It was still tasty, and possibly healthier for me?

3. Add garlic, vegetables, and seasonings to pan. I find that the garlic gets burnt and gross when you add it first. I also don’t have a slotted spoon to remove all the itty bitty bits of garlic I chop. As for the seasonings, I added pepper, thyme, and rosemary.

4. Add chicken, broth, and dijon. I didn’t buy dry white wine because I didn’t feel like it. So I added another cup of chicken broth instead. And I also didn’t feel like buying dijon mustard, since we already had honey dijon. It worked fine for me.

5. Bring to a boil, add potatoes, then simmer for 30 minutes. To be honest, I don’t remember when I added the potatoes, but I’m pretty sure that’s when I added them. I also only let it simmer for 20 minutes because my stove doesn’t have a simmer setting.

6. Add kale and simmer for 10 minutes.

And because I’m a fatty, I added a little bit of sour cream to it after I served myself. I hope that’s not too scary for you. Pretty simple, just time consuming.

0 Responses to “Dijon Chicken Stew with Potatoes and Kale”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

On Twitter

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

del.icio.us things


