Carmelized White Fish

The recipe I made this week is from the World Hearth Circle of International Cooking as a Cambodian dish. I used tilapia, but I didn’t use pork. I also used significantly less portions, so my cooking time was much shorter. A great, tasty meal that I wish I had more of.

scallions! how tasty and colorful.

scallions! how tasty and colorful.

1. Slice fish into 1/2″ pieces and marinate in fish and soy sauces for 20 minutes. I don’t normally cook with soy sauce because I’m trying to watch my sodium intake. But I used the fish sauce, which was quite smelly. I also added some ginger.

2. Heat skillet on high, brown garlic, then add sugar.

3. When sugar has browned and frothed, add fish and cook for 5 minutes. Like I said, I didn’t get pork, but if you choose to use it, add it before the fish for 5 minutes.

4. When cooked, remove from pan, serve over rice, and add scallions. I completely forgot/skipped the water, but it didn’t seem to need it. Also, if you can get scallions, I would recommend you not forget them. Not only do they add a nice color to your plate, but they also taste good and can be used with a baked potato or other stir fries.

Again, really easy. Fish isn’t hard or scary to cook, as I had felt before. So enjoy!

0 Responses to “Carmelized White Fish”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

On Twitter

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

del.icio.us things


