Chorba Hamra

After seeing I would receive an extra helping of zucchini, I searched for recipes with…zucchini. And while this Algerian recipe wasn’t centered around the zucchini, it was still awesome, and I used two zucchinis instead of one. I also left out the celery, used canned crushed tomatoes instead of tomatoes mashed, capellini instead of vermicelli (Gristedes was out?), a yam in addition to a potato, and 4 cups of vegetable broth instead of 6. Oh, and I forgot to buy more coriander.

I had also considered taking pictures of my cooking every minute, and then turning it into a video. I didn’t. Maybe some other time, my friends.

my cooking space! zucchini on the cutting board! welcome to my home.

my cooking space! zucchini on the cutting board! welcome to my home.

1. Saute lamb, onion, pepper, coriander, cinnamon, and salt. I always leave out salt. I also forgot to add the cinnamon until after I added the veggies at the wrong time. I’m really smart 🙂

2. When meat is browned, add broth and bring to boil. Again, because I’m kind of stupid and have trouble following directions, I added the zucchini and carrots before I realized that wasn’t right. But whatever. It’s still really tasty.

3. Add veggies, cover, reduce heat, and cook until veggies are right consistency. I don’t like to cook anything too long, so I waited for maybe 10 minutes max.

4. Return to boil, cook pasta, garnish with thin lemon slice. I left out the lemon. It was still really tasty.

So that’s that. Super simple, as always (almost). Enjoy!

0 Responses to “Chorba Hamra”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

On Twitter

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

del.icio.us things


