Sole Florentine…but I used tilapia

I had a man friend come visit me this weekend from West Point, and I thought I’d cook some fish because I know he doesn’t get enough seafood there. I found this recipe on YumSugar. I couldn’t find sole at Gristedes, so I bought tilapia instead. I also served it with a side of roasted potatoes with garlic and olive oil (I’m not good at potatoes), and not only was the plate wonderfully colorful, but it was also quite tasty. And, once again, I didn’t have time to photograph my meal or the process, but here’s a picture of me in my awesome apron!

that's right. i'm a sexy and fabulously strong woman. don't mess.

I will post my grocery list later. I figured this recipe would be much more interesting than my groceries this week. Still staying under budget though!

Preheat broiler.
1. melt 4 tbsp butter, then add shallots and cook for 1-2 minutes. I accidentally added the full 6 tbsp of butter, which made my final product rather fatty. Delicious, but almost too rich.

2. Sprinkle flour, whisk, add half and half, whisk until thick (2-3 minutes). I don’t think you need as much half and half as the recipe calls for, but whatever floats your boat. Personally, I’m not used to large amounts of fat in my meal. (Not that I object.)

3. Add sugar, spinach, nutmeg, salt, pepper, and then reduce to low. I didn’t used canned spinach because Urban Organic had delivered fresh spinach. I would say fresh is always better, but again, whatever floats your boat.

4. After coating broiler pan with cooking spray, add fillets, squeeze lemon over, sprinkle bread crumbs, and dot with butter. Yes, I used much more butter than this recipe called for, but not on purpose! And if you have lemon juice instead of a lemon, just be careful when pouring over fillets.

5. Broil 5-6 minutes or until fillets are opaque, then serve with spinach. I also had potatoes, both russet and sweet. Very colorful.

Something else I love about cooking fish is the easiness of it. It takes a much shorter time to cook fish – at least, tilapia – than worrying about beef or poultry being cooked thoroughly. Or maybe I’m just too hasty. Enjoy!

0 Responses to “Sole Florentine…but I used tilapia”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

On Twitter

December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

del.icio.us things


