Holiday Craze

SO sorry I haven’t been keeping up. These past couple weeks have been finals, and as a result, it’s been difficult for me to cook on a regular basis. But that’s an obstacle of being a student chef, right? To be honest, I can’t imagine how real working people – i.e. mothers – manage to do all the things they do and still cook a good meal for their families.

I had a thought the other day for a healthy meal program for low-income families. I know there are a lot out there, and maybe this idea already exists. Regardless, I was thinking about how this blog works: I tell you my budget, and I show you what I can do with it. I would want to take a family’s budget, sit down with them to create a grocery list or a meal plan, and then help them cook. Of course, the program would be flexible and a family could ask for one meal per week instead of a whole week’s worth.

Ultimately I would want it to cater to the family’s needs and availability. I wouldn’t want to force a family to sit down to a dinner if they didn’t have time or didn’t want it. If the family does want more structure, the program could provide that. And I wouldn’t want to charge extra. I would want to show the families how to work within their budget.

I have it all outlined in a notebook somewhere, but I’m too lazy to find it. I just need to go home and let my brain chill the fuck out.

0 Responses to “Holiday Craze”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

On Twitter

December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

del.icio.us things


