Wild Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

This (past) week I returned to a favorite recipe site: Recipezaar. I also received an acorn squash in my Urban Organic vegetable box, and wanted a recipe that wasn’t meat-based. So…I came upon this! I made a couple adjustments, however. First, I used a brown rice pilaf instead because the grocery store I went to didn’t have wild rice. Second, I didn’t use celery, pecans, or a couple of the spices. The pecans would’ve been such a great addition, but I was cheap. I also didn’t get a picture of it because it was so tasty, so here’s a picture of me drinking coffee with a gecko…hanging from my ceiling. (It was for my new year’s party…?)

if you watch BSG, then you'll understand the mug. if you don't watch BSG, then...go watch it.

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. It always sucks when you’ve finished preparing the food and then you realize you didn’t preheat the oven.

2. Cut squash in half and scoop out seeds. I would suggest you save the seeds for roasting, just like pumpkin seeds. Yum.

3. Place on baking sheet, sprinkle with salt, pepper, and nutmeg, dab butter onto each, cover with foil, and cook for 45 minutes. Unless I’m baking, I’m never too exact with butter…

4. Meanwhile, start cooking the wild rice. I cooked it half with water and half with chicken broth, since the brown rice pilaf was already a bit flavored. If you’ve never cooked wild rice before (or rice pilaf), I promise you it doesn’t cook like regular rice. It takes a while, so don’t underestimate the original instructions of 45 minutes.

5. Meanwhile, saute veggies for 8-10 minutes over medium heat until tender, add thyme, cook for 1 minute, and remove from heat. Keep in mind they will bake as well, so don’t keep them on heat for too long.

6. In large bowl, combine wild rice, veggies, pecans, and cranberries. The cranberries I got were flavored with cherry syrup or something. Gross on their own, but weren’t too bad in the mix.

7. After removing foil from squash, fill each half with mixture, dot with butter, cover gently with foil, and bake for 20 minutes. I had a ton of mixture leftover since I only had two small squash halves, and I ate the leftover wild rice stuff as a meal.

So that’s that. More steps than usual, and longer cook time, but not too difficult, right? Enjoy!

0 Responses to “Wild Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

On Twitter

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

del.icio.us things


