Chocolate Chip Walnut Banana Bread

I’ve always seen recipes on the back of ingredient packages, but I’ve never bothered to make them. I figure “Eh, I’ve got my own recipes.” This time, however, I decided to go for it for two reasons:

1. Urban Organic has been delivering over ripe, bruised bananas. I never want to eat them, but they’re perfect for banana bread!
2. I made butter this weekend, and when you make butter, you get buttermilk. That was the real key to choosing this recipe – it called for the exact amount of buttermilk I made!

So I followed the recipe on the back of the Gold Medal flour package and it turned out great. It didn’t last two days in my apartment.

my bread looked exactly like betty crocker's. for serious.

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and grease a 9 x 5 x 3 loaf pan. Don’t forget!

2. Mix sugar and butter in large bowl, stir in eggs until well blended. Mash the bananas before you mixed them in.

3. Add bananas, buttermilk and vanilla and beat until smooth. That’s what she said.

4. Stir in flour, baking soda and salt just until moistened, stir in nuts, and pour into pan. Simple.

5. Bake 9-inch loaf about 1 1/4 hours, or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean, cool 10 minutes, remove from pan, and cool for about 1 hour. Yeah right. I dug into that 15 minutes after I pulled it out of the oven.

1 Response to “Chocolate Chip Walnut Banana Bread”


  1. 1 Michael January 23, 2010 at 3:26 pm

    delicious!
    check out my good blog and tell me what you think:
    http://thegodscake.wordpress.com

    Michael


Leave a Reply

On Twitter

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

del.icio.us things


