Carrot Cake and Tandoori-ish Chicken

This was a big week for me. I made Baking Bites’ lower fat carrot sheet cake and Smitten Kitchen’s maple cream cheese frosting, and then I made Diner Journal‘s Tandoori-ish chicken. So where to start…I think I’ll tell you the tandoori-ish chicken recipe, since you can (and should) visit Baking Bites and Smitten Kitchen for their recipes. Also, my friend Jakee came over to cook both of these things with me, which was a blast since we had just finished DINNER WITH DANGER.

She took some pictures, but I didn’t get them from her. So instead, I’m posting a screenshot of our website because you should really check it out.

don't you want to know how to make this guacamole?!

Ingredients:

chicken (breasts, thighs, legs, whatever)
3 cups yogurt
1 lemon
1 tsp cumin
1 tsp coriander (which i didn’t have)
1 tsp paprika
1/2 tsp cayenne (less if you don’t like spicy, more if you do)
1 tsp turmeric
4 scallions (which i also didn’t have)
1/2 cup dill (which i also…didn’t have)

Note: this recipe can also be grilled, but I pan-fried instead.

1. Mix 2 cups of yogurt, lemon juice, cumin, coriander, paprika, cayenne, turmeric, and black pepper, and pour marinade over chicken. I accidentally mixed all the yogurt, but it was still fine. Also, the recipe says to marinate overnight, which would be cool, but I wanted it for dinner, so I let it sit for maybe 20 minutes.

2. Pull chicken out of marinade, rub with salt and pepper, and dredge in flour. Pretty easy. Kind of messy.

3. Heat cast iron skillet and heat enough oil to cover bottom of pan, then cook chicken over medium heat until brown on both sides. This took a long time because I was cooking halves of chicken. If you’re cooking with just breasts or something, I’m guessing it doesn’t take longer than 20 minutes.

4. In separate bowl, mix leftover 1 cup of yogurt, scallions, and dill, and season with salt, pepper, and olive oil. This is to dress your chicken when it’s finished. I didn’t do this because I used all my yogurt, but it sounds tasty.

Since I used halves of chicken, I finished cooking two pieces on top of the stove (took around 1 hour!), and I put the rest in the oven for 30 minutes at 375 degrees. I think. Regardless, the finished product was amazing.

0 Responses to “Carrot Cake and Tandoori-ish Chicken”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

On Twitter

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

del.icio.us things


