THE Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

For anyone who knows me personally, you know about the oatmeal chocolate chip cookies. If I ever have a bakery, I think these will be the star of the show. By the time I finish baking all the dough, half of the cookies are already gone. I have to swat people away with spatulas, and when someone does get a hold of a freshly baked cookie, they burn their mouths on the molten hot cookie. But it doesn’t seem to matter to them, because they keep doing it.

Today is your lucky day, my friends. I am about to bestow this recipe upon your humble minds. Prepare yourself.

hello, we are the oatmeal chocolate chip cookies. we will haunt your dreams. (maybe not.)

ingredients:

1 cup all-purpose flour
1 cup butter, softened
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 tsp salt
1 egg
3 cups quick cooking oatmeal
~ 3/4 cup chocolate chips (depending on how much you love chocolate chips)

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and grease a baking sheet. Yeah, that happens.

2. Mix together all ingredients except oatmeal and chocolate chips. I always hand-mixed everything, and when I started using my electric hand mixer for this step, the cookies never tasted the way I remembered. So, as much as it may suck, I would suggest you hand-mix everything. By hand.

3. Stir in oatmeal and chocolate chips. At one point I started using the regular oatmeal instead of instant, and again they did not turn out as well. Stick with 1-minute Quaker Oats.

4. Shape dough into 1-inch balls on baking sheet and bake for 10 minutes. Stick with making smaller cookies because then they won’t spread out and they’ll stay moist. Cooking time can vary, but I suggest baking until the edges just begin to brown. You may want to bake them longer because they appear uncooked, but trust me, take them out just as the edges begin to brown. If the cookies do spread out/thin, then add more oatmeal to the dough. They should end up being firm, moist little morsels of heaven.

It’s not a complicated recipe, but since it’s the one I hold dear to my heart, I have to make them perfect. You can cook them however you like.

1 Response to “THE Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies”


  1. 1 Rebecca August 4, 2010 at 10:44 am

    love your writing style (made me laugh) and will surely try this recipe!!


Leave a Reply

On Twitter

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

del.icio.us things


