Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins

My mom and her partner keep buying bananas but letting them go brown. And since no one likes to eat brown bananas, I’ve decided to continue baking with them. I didn’t want to make a whole banana bread loaf again because I wanted to easily take some of my goodies to share. Thus, I searched for and found a recipe at Nami-Nami for Banana Muffins with Pecans. I didn’t have pecans, so I used chocolate chips instead, because you really can’t go wrong with chocolate chips.

My mom’s partner doesn’t like to have all these goodies laying around in plain sight, so she freezes it all. I thought the slices of my banana bread wouldn’t be good frozen and then thawed, but they’re really no different. So…good suggestion.

one last frozen slice of banana bread, and four banana chocolate chip muffins! noms.

**Preheat oven to 400 F. The measurements are in metrics, so to convert them, use the conversion calculator at Diana’s Desserts.

1. Mash bananas in large bowl and then stir in eggs. Super super fun, I promise. I recommend cutting up the bananas before mashing.

2. Mix flour, sugar, and baking powder into large bowl, and then add melted butter and vanilla. The recipe says you should mix all the dry ingredients first, and then add them with the butter, but I don’t like cleaning more dishes than necessary.

3. Fold in chopped nuts/chocolate chips and stir just until combined – careful not to over-stir. I, of course, kind of absent-mindedly stirred, but then immediately stopped when I thought “Oh no! I’ve stirred too much!” They turned out fine. That being said, I’d still follow the original advice.

4. Pour into regular/medium-sized muffin cups lined with cupcake/muffin paper liner things. I also topped each of the muffins with a few chocolate chips. I remember Alton Brown saying that, when you make muffins, the goodies will sink to the bottom, or something like that. (~00:47 he puts the blueberries on top.)

5. Bake for 20 minutes or until muffin tops are golden brown, and then transfer to metal rack to cool. I guess you can also double-check by sticking toothpicks into the centers of the muffins to make sure they’re cooked.

And that’s all folks!

0 Responses to “Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

On Twitter

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

del.icio.us things


