Change Up the Pace

I realize that this blog is about food and the awesomeness of living cheap and eating well. But right now, I’m going to change it up a little. I’m going to talk about nutrition as it pertains to health. And we’re actually going to go a bit broader here – we’re going to talk about the pharmaceutical companies and universal health care.

Over the past week, I’ve had a UTI and I haven’t been able to take a decent shit. So I’ve been drinking water, pure cranberry juice, pear juice, apple juice, green tea, and something my work calls a “Spinach Slam” (which is absolutely delicious – pineapple juice, spinach, and mangoes). I’m still in square one. Usually most of those things work for what I need them to do, but the fact that I still have this infection is bullshit.

All I need is a simple antibiotic – ciproflaxin – but because you can’t buy antibiotics without a prescription in the USA, i still have this stupid infection. (Somewhat ironically, I’m pretty sure cipro has the side effect of making you constipated.)  I don’t have a car, so getting to the hospital or emergency room is a huge ordeal, even if I had the time to go. I understand the risks of antibiotics, i.e. developing an immunity to them if taken too often. That’s why I rarely take them. UTIs are the only thing I can ever remember choosing to get antibiotics for.

Here’s the other thing that angers me: last night I saw an advertisement for a drug that treats “Ulcerative Colitis,” which is a form of inflammatory bowel disease. It occurs in less than 0.1% of the US population. Less than 0.1% of the population. So we’re pouring all these resources into developing a drug to treat less than 0.1% of the population, meanwhile at least one in five women is likely to get a UTI in her lifetime, and is the second most common type of infection? WHAT THE FUCK PEOPLE?!

So my point is that you need to take care of yourself, regardless of what your budget is. Eating well will help you prevent health problems, big or small. Make it a priority to enjoy well-rounded meals and a healthy diet!

0 Responses to “Change Up the Pace”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

On Twitter

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

del.icio.us things


