Recipe Exchange

A few days ago I tweeted that I was making up a recipe. It didn’t really happen. I wanted to make some sort of curry with chickpeas over mashed yams, but…super fail. But whatever. I ate it, it was kind of tasty, and now I know not to do it again!

Last week a friend from college sent me an e-mail titled “Recipe Exchange.” It was a kind of chain letter – we were supposed to send a quick recipe to the person at the top of a list included in the email. Then we were to copy the text, create a new email, put the sender at the top of the list, and our own name at the bottom (there are only two names on the list: the sender and yours). Then we send the new email to 20 friends and wait to receive some recipes. Needless to say, the instructions are confusing, but if you successfully forward the message onward, you’ll get a few recipes back.

I’ve received 6 recipes so far, and this week I’ll be trying one. I’m kind of cheating though – it’s a variation on beef stroganoff, which is something I make pretty regularly. The next recipe, however, will probably the butternut squash soup recipe I received, so stay tuned!

I also apologize for not updating. I haven’t tried many note-worthy new recipes, so I haven’t bothered posting anything. But hopefully with the holidays here and these Recipe Exchange recipes I’ve been receiving, I’ll have something to report! If you’re interested in doing a recipe exchange with your friends and family, I’ve pasted the text after the jump! (I’ve also put my name in slot #1 in case you want to send it off…)

Hello friends,

I’ve been introduced to this new tradition of recipe exchanges via email! I hope you will participate.

Please send a recipe to the person whose name is in position #1 on the list below (even if you don’t know her because she’s awesome). Send something quick, easy and without rare ingredients. It can be one you know in your head and can type right now. Don’t agonize over it; it is one you make when you are short on time.

After you’ve sent the recipe to the person in position #1 below – and only to that person (please don’t reply all) – copy this letter into a new email, move my name to position #1 below, and put your name in position #2. Only my name and your name should show when you send your email. Send to 20 friends BCC (blind copy). If you cannot do this within 5 days, let me know so it will be fair to those participating. You should receive 36 recipes (I have no idea where this number comes from?).

Seldom does anyone drop out because we all need new ideas. The turnaround is fast as there are only 2 names on the list and you only have to do it once.

1 – Sterling Yee ( sterlingyee @ yahoo.com)
2 – **your name**

Have Fun!

0 Responses to “Recipe Exchange”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

On Twitter

December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

del.icio.us things


