Recipe Exchange: Beef Stroganoff and Squash Stew

December was a busy month for all of us, I’m sure. I made two recipes from my recipe exchange: beef stroganoff and a squash, chickpea and lentil stew. The beef stroganoff was delicious, but today I want to blog about the stew. I promise you I did indeed take a picture, but it was with my phone, and looking at it now it’s just not worth posting. Instead, I’ll post a picture of the delicious chicken & rice I had while visiting NYC for new year’s:

chicken & rice. SE corner of 53rd and 6th. it's the same guys as on the SW corner.

I also made a beer brined pork loin from Chili Cheese Fries for my manfriend when he came to visit. It was a-mazing. I’m always afraid of drying out pork, but this was juicy and perfect. I cooked it in the oven, but I definitely want to try grilling when it’s warmer! Tomorrow I’m going to make this recipe for Brunswick Stew, a traditional dish from Georgia (with German roots?). I also think that “Get a Husband” is a ridiculously silly title for it. I will definitely take a picture of it, but I can’t promise I’ll post about it this week. I’ll try!

Ingredients

¾ cup dried chickpeas (I used canned)
2 ½ pounds kabocha (see Note) or butternut squash, peeled, seeded and cut into 1-inch cubes
2 large carrots, peeled and cut into ½-inch pieces
1 large onion, chopped
1 cup red lentils (I didn’t use them since I’m allergic)
4 cups vegetable broth
2 tablespoons tomato paste
1 tablespoon minced peeled fresh ginger (I used powdered)
1 ½ teaspoons ground cumin
1 teaspoon salt
¼ teaspoon saffron (expensive, so…no.)
¼ teaspoon freshly ground pepper
¼ cup lime juice (I squeezed a lime)
½ cup chopped roasted unsalted peanuts (I used cashews since I’m allergic)
¼ cup packed fresh cilantro leaves, chopped

1. Combine the chickpeas, squash, carrots, onion, lentils, broth, tomato paste, ginger, cumin, salt, saffron and pepper in a 6-quart slow cooker. The first step is to soak the dried chickpeas, but since I used canned, I just rinsed them off before cooking.

2. Put on the lid and cook on low until the chickpeas are tender and the lentils have begun to break down, 5-6 hours. Yup. That’s all.

3. Stir in lime juice. Serve sprinkled with cashews and cilantro. At first I thought “Lime juice? In a stew? WTF?” But it truly added a little tang and it was awesome.

Honestly, I love making stews because they’re so simple. They just take a long time. And it was delicious.

1 Response to “Recipe Exchange: Beef Stroganoff and Squash Stew”


  1. 1 Martina Padilla January 13, 2011 at 4:19 pm

    This sounds like a great recipe! I just got a slow cooker for Christmas and have been looking for stews I can cook while I’m away at school. This will be perfect to try! I’m wondering how much the saffron would have affected it … at $17.00 a gram I’m not willing to try very soon.

    Thanks for the recipe!


Leave a Reply

On Twitter

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

del.icio.us things


