Brunswick Stew

Even though I messed up the recipe a little, it was still ridiculously delicious. It’s the first time I regret cutting the recipe in half because I wish I had more. (Usually I only make enough of a recipe for 2 or 4 servings.) Really easy. So delicious. I chose this recipe from AllRecipes.com because the title – “Get a Husband Brunswick Stew” – is just silly. Apparently it’s mostly a Georgian thing, since no other Southerners I’ve met know what it is. Wikipedia says it’s also a North Carolina thing, but I’m not sure. I don’t like any of the pictures I took, but here’s a picture of me and what I’ve been up to:

Drinking, baking, crocheting. That's pretty much it.

1. Saute onions, then mix in pork and beef. I couldn’t find ground pork at the grocery store, so I only did beef. I bet it would taste amazing with pork though. Instead, I decided to throw in some Chinese sausage.

2. Stir in shredded chicken, tomatoes and their liquid, ketchup, BBQ sauce, salt, pepper, hot sauce, and place whole green pepper in pot and simmer for 2 hours. Instead of shredded chicken, I just cut up some leftover chicken I had from a couple days prior. Also, I mis-calculated how many cans of peeled tomatoes I needed, but it was still fine. I also only simmered it for maybe 1 1/2 hours because I was impatient. (I just turned up the heat a little.)

3. Stir in creamed style corn, cook 1 hour or to desired consistency, then remove green pepper. I actually removed it before stirring in creamed corn because I misread it. I also wanted to chop it up and throw it back into the stew, but by then the pepper was all soft and soggy, so I just threw it away. And I only cooked it like, 20 minutes with the corn. I was hungry.

And guess what? It was still awesome because that’s how stews are: you cook them however you damn well please. Enjoy!

0 Responses to “Brunswick Stew”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

On Twitter

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

del.icio.us things


