Koshary and I have gas!

Hi kids. I’m so sorry for not updating sooner. I did, in fact, get my gas turned on a couple weeks ago. I made some AWESOME meatballs to celebrate, but the recipe I really want to share with you is the koshary recipe my friend Laya gave me. Koshary is a common dish served throughout Egypt (at least the area around Cairo). There are stands/restaurants/joints/places that serve just koshary. It’s just so freakin’ delicious and so bad for you…but so freakin’ delicious.

I just looked it up on Wikipedia to see if I was accurate in my statements (that’s right, I looked up Wikipedia to verify the truthiness of my statement), and it says that it’s a national dish that likely reflects the meatless diet of Coptic Christians during Lent. The funny thing about it is that, although Copts are most closely related to the ethnic Egyptians we all think of, most of Egypt is Arab. So there’s your history lesson for today. Here’s a picture of koshary:

koshary RULES! you may not be able to tell how delicious it is, but...it is.

ingredients
2 large chopped onions
4 garlic cloves
3/4 cup vegetable oil
3/4 cup uncooked long grain rice
1/4 tsp red pepper
1 tsp cumin
1 can of tomato sauce
3/4 cup brown lentils
4 cups water
1 cup dolitani macaroni (elbow macaroni is fine)
1/2 cup white vinegar
1 cup chick peas, boiled

1. Add lentils to water in saucepan, bring to boil, simmer for 25 minutes, then drain. I didn’t use lentils because I’m allergic to them usually. In case you haven’t noticed, I have weird allergies that like to act up when they feel like it. Anyway, lentils are delicious with it.

2. Add new water to lentils and add rice, then continue to simmer for 20 minutes or until rice is tender. Like I said, I didn’t use lentils, so I cooked my rice in a rice cooker.

3. In a separate saucepan, boil water, add macaroni, cook, then drain. Cooking pasta should be pretty easy.

4. In a skillet, heat some oil, saute garlic, then add vinegar and bring to a boil. Again, a pretty simple step.

5. Add tomato sauce and spices to skillet, bring to a boil, then lower heat. Hope it’s not too complicated for you.

6. In another separate skillet, heat oil and brown the onions, then add to macaroni. The onions I remember in Cairo were sliced thinly and small, but you can cook them however you want.

7. To serve, put a layer of rice and lentils in a big bowl, then a layer of macaroni, a layer of sauce, a layer of chickpeas, and then onions. There was also a delicious lemon sauce they drizzled on top of it. It was a mixture of lemon juice and a little bit of vinegar. I don’t know the ratio, but just guess.

Yay Egyptian food! nom noms.

0 Responses to “Koshary and I have gas!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

On Twitter

March 2011
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

del.icio.us things


