Herb Roasted Chicken

Finally! A recipe! So exciting! Exclamation points and fragments!

This was a pretty delicious and easy recipe. The only difficulty of it though was that, since I moved, I don’t have a meat thermometer (my old roommate had one), and as a result, I had to guess how long to cook my bird. I usually buy less meat than suggested in recipes since I cook for one, so I chose a smaller chicken. It turned out a little dry, but still pretty tasty.

brussel sprouts and chicken with fresh rosemary. not the most attractive picture, but yummy!

preheat oven to 500 degrees.

1. Blend butter, herbs, milk, and oil. I picked the rosemary fresh from outside my work. Don’t ever underestimate fresh ingredients (when possible).

2. After removing gizzards from chicken, smother bird in butter mixture. Yay butter!

3. Fold foil in a triangle to fit the chicken and place aside. I didn’t think this made much of a difference, so I wrapped the chicken in the foil. I also like wrapping things in foil because it makes cleaning pans easier.

4. Place chicken in oven for 25 minutes, then lower the temperature to 375 and cook for another hour or so. The purpose of the 25 minutes is to make the skin crispy, but mine didn’t get crispy, which may’ve been due to the chicken being wrapped in foil. Also, the hour is debatable depending on the size of your bird. And if you have a meat thermometer, it should read 190 degrees.

I hope you aren’t afraid of trying this recipe. Cooking a whole chicken isn’t difficult, as long as you use lots of butter 🙂 Enjoy!

0 Responses to “Herb Roasted Chicken”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment




May 2011
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

del.icio.us things