Chickpea and Tuna Salad

This week I decided to focus on a side dish. I chose the chickpea and tuna salad recipe from Nami Nami. Pretty simple and delicious, thought for me, the tuna was a little much. I may add less tuna next time, and possibly another vegetable.

I wish I had a picture of it, but I went through it pretty quickly. In other news, my green beans are coming along nicely, but my beets are done for. I think I’ll re-plant them in August or September. We’ll see…


*I used canned chickpeas. If you’re gonna be hardcore about it, follow her instructions.

1. Dress chickpeas in olive oil and sherry vinegar, then add peppers. I bought fresh green and red peppers instead, so I also was a bit more generous with the olive oil.

2. Peel and cut onions, and fry gently in oil for 5-7 minutes until softened. You should be used to this by now. It’s a pretty common cooking procedure.

3. Add spices to onions, then add onions to chickpea mixture. Ok.

4. Drain tuna, cut into smaller chunks, and mix into chickpea mixture. I haven’t had canned tuna in a while. For me, it was a little overwhelming, and I had hoped to find fresh tuna instead. Oh well.

5. Add lemon juice, salt, and pepper. Don’t exclude the lemon juice. Lemons aren’t expensive, and it adds a great flavor. Also, don’t be lazy. This is an easy enough recipe as it is.

I ate my salad by itself, on top of spinach, and in tacos. It’s just delicious, refreshing, and simple. It’s a filling side or main dish that’s great for the summer. Enjoy!

0 Responses to “Chickpea and Tuna Salad”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

On Twitter

July 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

del.icio.us things


