Yellow Squash Casserole

Recently I’ve signed up with an online book exchange called PaperBackSwap. I order/wish for all kinds of books and post books I have. The more books I send to people, the more books I can receive! The only thing you pay for is postage, but when people send you books, they pay for postage. It’s awesome. So one of the books I recently received was Southern Living Annual Recipes 1988 (the year I was born). The cookbook is divided into months so that you can cook what’s seasonal. Also, this book has recipes designed completely around the microwave! Crazy.

Anyway, I was skeptical of the squash casserole, but I wanted to give it a try. Plus, I wanted to make a vegetable-based meal for the week. I didn’t take a picture of it, but here’s a picture of all the peppers at the Buford Highway Farmers Market!

Ingredients
2 lbs yellow squash, sliced
2 small onions, minced
2 tbsp butter
1 cup cracker crumbs/bread crumbs
1 1/2 cups shredded cheddar cheese
2 eggs, beaten
1/4 cup bacon bits (I didn’t include these)
1 2oz jar diced pimiento, drained (also didn’t include this)

preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

1. Add squash to pot of water, bring to a boil, then simmer for 10 minutes or until squash was tender. M’kay.

2. Drain well and mash. Fun! Since I got a food processor, I just did that for a few seconds.

3. As the squash boils, saute onions in butter until tender. Use butter, not any other oil because butter is awesome.

4. Combine onions, squash, 3/4 cup bread crumbs, cheese, and remaining ingredients. I also threw in zucchini and broccoli because I wanted it to be like, a super veggie casserole of deliciousness.

5. Spoon/pour into casserole dish, sprinkle remaining bread crumbs on top, and bake for 45 minutes. Simple, yeah?

My family never did casseroles, but this will definitely inspire me to try more. I ate this for lunch and dinner every day last week, including Saturday lunch. Yum yum yum yum yum!!!

0 Responses to “Yellow Squash Casserole”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

On Twitter

August 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

del.icio.us things


