Chicken with Dill Sauce and Momofuku’s Brussel Sprouts

I think the only food my dad doesn’t like is brussel sprouts. I grew up thinking they were gross, even though I had never tried them. Then one day at NYC’s Sacred Chow, I had a brussel sprout special that changed my life. Tonight I tried Tamarind and Thyme’s (adapted?) Momofuku Brussel Sprouts recipe. So delicious and amazing.

The recipe I’m sharing with you now though is the grilled chicken with dill sauce from my 1988 Southern Living Cookbook. I wanted to grill the chicken, but I haven’t gotten any propane for my grill 😦 So instead I baked the chicken. Still tasty. If I do end up doing this on the grill, I’ll post it again. Also, the dill sauce calls only for sour cream and not Greek yogurt like I used. I just wanted something healthier and thicker. I think it was perfect.

this is my lunch at work! everyone was jealous.

Ingredients
chicken thighs
yellow squash
bread crumbs (optional)
Greek yogurt
sour cream
dill weed (fresh would be awesome, but I couldn’t get any)
lemon
salt and pepper

1. Slice squash and coat lightly in bread crumbs. I brushed the squash with a little bit of melted butter, but if you want to be healthy or whatever, then don’t.

2. Place chicken sprinkled with salt and pepper in pan, add squash, then bake at 375 F for 40 minutes. EASY. The original recipe calls for other vegetables to grill, but I just wanted squash.

3. To make dill sauce, combine 3 parts Greek yogurt to 1 part sour cream, juice of 1/2 lemon, and ~2 tablespoons of dill weed. I just guessed with it all until it tasted right to me.

And that’s it! So delicious and healthy and…just…MMMM!

2 Responses to “Chicken with Dill Sauce and Momofuku’s Brussel Sprouts”


  1. 1 thehealthywife August 29, 2011 at 5:05 pm

    Yummmm! Also looked at the brussel sprouts recipe and will have to try! I seriously love brussel sprouts! I might have to blog my go-to B.Sprout recipe soon! : )


Leave a Reply

On Twitter

August 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

del.icio.us things


